History continues of well-known winners at Cave Creek

Celebrations continue at the Cave Creek (Ariz.) Rodeo after the first Pro Rodeo competition since the COVID-19 pandemic began in mid-March.

Despite fans not being allowed to attend in person to watch and cheer for their teams at the stadium, they will be able to watch the action at the comfort of their home through The Cowboy Channel from 10:30 p.m. (ET).

history of well-known winners at Cave Creek

Cave Creek might not be one of the biggest central-Arizona rodeos. It has maintained a history for recent years by attracting the biggest names in ProRodeo and seeing some in the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo qualifiers.

In 2016, Canadian cowboy Luke Creasy won nearly $500,000 in ProRodeo competition. That year, he won the RAM Turquoise Circuit Finals Rodeo, and this was after winning at Cave Creek with 84.3 points.

A 4.2-second run saw Dirk Tavenner clinch the win for steer wrestling in 2017. He needs to qualify for the NFR. Despite being number 12, he is the favorite to win this year. But that is yet to be seen.

Last year, with just a 4.4-second run, the California steer wrestler Luke Branquinho was declared the winner of 2019 at Cave Creek. After qualifying for NRF 14 times and winning the world championship five-times.

In 2019, we witnessed the crowning of team ropers Nick Sarchett and Tom Richards after a 4.7-second run.

Ryder Wright won Rookie of the year in 2016 and went ahead to win in 2018 at the Cave Creek. He is at the peak of his career, and a lot is expected of him.

Coburn Bradshaw, who happens to be the uncle to Ryder Wright, in 2019 won at Cave Creek’s with 83-point in saddle bronc riding on The Cervi Brothers Wyatt Earp. In ProRodeo competition, Bradshaw wins have surpassed $1 million.

In 2016, Westyn Hughes was an exciting year for the tie-down roper when he made his NFR debut and went ahead to win Rookie of the year. And number 20 in the World ranking that year, but at the moment he is at number 14 after his win at Fiesta de Los Vaqueros.

The Colorado Chris Glover won Cave Creek with 36.4 back in last year.

An 87-point ride was enough for the Bull rider Boudreaux Campbell to win at Cave Creek rodeo in 2017. He clinched rookie title following his win that year, and ever since, he hasn’t missed any NFR competition.

Expectations are high for this year at Cave Creek rodeo, as fans wait to see future Wrangler contenders unfold in the arena.

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link